Blue diamond twill smokkr

The second layer of my elevation outfit (over the natural white serk that I wore for my vigil) was a smokkr in blue diamond twill wool. This smokkr is made using the five-panel pattern I developed based on fragments from Hedeby and Birka; for this dress I did not include the dart from the Hedeby fragment.
image
This garment is totally hand sewn (thanks to Viscountess Whilja and Mistress Caterucia for their help!). The top front is decorated with a tablet woven band, and the bottom hem is edged in contrasting silk.
image
The straps are made of strips of the same wool as the garment, folded twice to encase the raw edge and then sewn using whip stitch.

3 thoughts on “Blue diamond twill smokkr

  1. alizkye says:

    You look fabulous! Thank you for the amazing work that you do!

  2. Rûnya says:

    Could you please tell me, where you’ve got those brooches from? I’ve looked for suitable brooches for so long. I think I saw similar ones in Haithabu, but I’ve never found a shop or something else to purchase them…
    Would be great if you could help me!

Leave a Reply

