Laurel ‘scroll’

wpid-IMG_20131015_175142_090-1.jpg

In planning my elevation, I was a little stumped on what I should do for a scroll. My ceremony (which I will post soon) is Norse-inspired and so I was hesitant have a paper scroll. I did consider a rune stone, but decided it would be a bit unwieldy to present in court 🙂

I finally settled on an embroidered wall hanging based on the Bayeux embroidery. Although that particular piece is Anglo-Saxon, there is evidence (ie from Oseberg) that wall hangings were also used in Scandinavia. The style of my ‘scroll’ is based specifically on the Bayeux example because that hanging includes text.

I asked a wonderful group of friends to help with out with this project, and I was overwhelmed by their enthusiastic agreement!

Many, many thanks to the people who made this a reality: my fiance Niccolo for drawing the design, Aldgytha and Kelsey for embroidering the borders, Svana for embroidering the first panel,

image

Kissa for embroidering the second panel,

image

Stazi for embroidering the third panel,

image

Also I would like to send out my heartfelt thanks to Saeunn, Maeve and Taisiya for jumping in to the sewing circle of doom to finish the lettering and construction in time for the scroll to be presented at my elevation!

There are some fun touches that we included, such as the oak leaves (main charge on my device) incorporated into the borders. Also, Kelsey reworked two or the critters in the top border to represent my two mastiffs (Athena is a dark brindle – she is in the top center of the second panel, Hercules – complete with drool – is in the top left corner of the third panel). Niccolo was very excited to include the silly naked men from the original in the bottom border 🙂

2 thoughts on “Laurel ‘scroll’

  1. Don’t you mean Niccolo was excited to include himself as the silly naked man in the border? I’m just happy that he is directly below my panel – my own private “Nick surprise”!!!! I am honored to be a part of such a unique and amazing project for such a unique and amazing friend. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

